From UoB to UBC- a U21 fellowship blog

Back in the UK

Leave a comment

So, after a fairly stressful flight back home last week (sprinting through Calgary airport is not typically how I like to spend my evenings, I only just made my gate) I’ve just about reset my internal clock to UK time. I’m working on the final report from my fellowship, deciding how I’m going to use what I’ve learned and how I’m going to maintain connections with the people I’ve met.

I’ll keep this blog going to talk about those things, but in the meantime, some pictures! Click on each picture to enlarge.

The Koerner Library, UBC

The Koerner Library, UBC

Koerner Library, the Main library on UBC Campus and home to the Research Commons and Firetalks series.

More pictures behind here

UBC campus towards the sea

UBC campus towards the sea

Looking toward the sea and mountains (UBC sits on a peninsula). It was graduation when I took this photograph, and it certainly made a dramatic backdrop to many a graduation photograph.

The land UBC sits on is traditional, ancestral, unceded territory of the Musqueam people. You can find out more about what that means here

Stone Lantern

Stone Latern, Nitobe Gardens, UBC

A stone latern at the Nitobe Memorial Garden, a traditional Japanese garden at UBC. I had the garden to myself when I visted, and it was one of the most serene places I’ve ever been.

Iris beds, Nitobe Gardens

Iris beds

Iris beds at the gardens. Sadly they weren’t in bloom, as they are one of my favourite flowers.

Blue Whale jawbone, Beatty Biodiversity Museum

Blue Whale jawbone, Beatty Biodiversity Museum

I couldn’t get the whole whale in the picture! This is the skeleton of a blue whale. It was the length of the whole building.

Victoria harbour

Victoria harbour

The harbour in Victoria, the capital of British Columbia. I caught the ferry across to speak to colleagues at University of Victoria

Chinese School, Victoria

Chinese School, Victoria

The Chinese School on Fishgard Street, Victoria. Victoria has the oldest Chinese population in North America, or so I was told!

Rose Gardens

Rose Gardens, UBC

The Rose Gardens at UBC. It was a little early for all the roses to be in bloom, but I can imagine it’s really lovely when they are.

False Creek at sunset

False Creek at sunset

One last picture-a Vancouver sunset, looking over False Creek to downtown Vancouver. I walked from my hotel all the way to BC place and the Olympic village with a friend of mine, and took this picture along the way. She told me about being in town for the 2010 Olympic Ice Hockey men’s final-sounds like it was a night to remember! Sadly all the hockey was happening in LA that late in the year, though I did wave at Rogers Arena as we went past.

 

Author: Erika H

Erika Hawkes, Postgraduate Researcher Development Officer at the University of Birmingham. Creator/facilitator of University Graduate School development programmes. Interested in professional development, writing support, and cohort identity among postgraduate researchers. Enthusiastic knitter and accidental ice hockey fan. Opinions are my own, not those of my employer.

Leave a Reply

